Sheraton Towers and its Wonders: a Staycation

I’ll admit, as much as I love my (day) job, my body can’t catch up with the amount of energy it requires. So the rate of me feeling under the weather has increased dramatically over the past few years. This can only mean one thing; I need to have more R&R! And so does Hubs. We both have been working so hard, I figured it’s about time we rewarded ourselves.

So I began scrolling through my 2 accommodation apps, Booking.com and Hotels.com. A little side info, Hotels.com used to be HotelClub. I loved the “earn and spend” reward system since you can immediately use the amount you earned immediately on the next booking. On the other hand, Hotels.com collects number of nights you’ve stayed and allows you to get a free night stay after 10 qualifying nights. Which is beginning to irk me, since most of my staycations are free and it takes me forever to collect 10 nights.

Anyway back to topic, so for the past week, I’ve been scouring the apps for any good hotels. Good in my definition being reasonably priced with high review points. The benefit of being a Booking.com member was the ability to enjoy secret prices, one of which caught my eye. I went to compare the prices with Hotels.com along with direct hotel booking (sometimes it’s worth checking out as they have better deals than through 3rd parties, it’s an industry secret). This time, Booking.com still had the best deal. After manually adding in the 7% tax and 10% service charge, the final price for Deluxe Double Room including breakfast at Sheraton Towers Singapore Hotel on a Saturday-Sunday stay in July 2017 was S$213.97. Quite a catch!

Located in the heart of the hustle and bustle, it is a short walk from the Newton MRT station (on the North-South line (Red) and Downtown line (Blue)), a mere one stop away from Orchard Road. True to the Sheraton name, this 5-star hotel exudes with class and elegance. From the moment you enter, you would be greeted with warm hospitality of their staff. The lighting is warm and dimly lit, creating a relaxing ambiance. The reception area is spacious, with a special counter for SPG gold and platinum members.

Their standard check-in time is at 2pm. Considering that this was also a surprise stay for Hubs, I planned that after I secretly checked-in on my own, I could immediately bring him up to the hotel room. I even ensured that I arrived around the check-in time so that the room would be ready. But hey, Murphy’s Law. After verifying my ID and payments as well as making the S$100 refundable deposit, the lovely receptionist informed me that apparently the only beds available at that moment were twin beds. Pretty sure I requested double bed when I booked.

Nevertheless, she promised me that she would try her best to get the room ready in an hour or less, so until then, I had to stall Hubs. I decided to bring him up to level 5 for a dip. Then he got smart and guessed that I booked a stay. Oh well, at least I managed to get him as far as to the hotel.

The swimming pool is very clean and clear. The water is comfortably cooling in the scorching weather. There is also a well-equipped gym facing the pool, along with spa and sauna facilities.

After a short dip and swim, it was finally time to get our room key and enjoy our room!

Our room was on the 12th floor, with view of the swimming pool. The room itself is spacious so you won’t have to worry about luggages. There’s a study table at the corner of the room and a single-seater sofa and a coffee table to enjoy the view through the floor to ceiling window. The mini fridge is hidden in the cabinet under the TV. The warm lighting extends to inside the room, keeping the same ambiance throughout the hotel.

You can connect your own device to the TV as long as your bring the adapters. Alternatively, you can also plug in your thumbdrive/hard disk.

Similar with a number of hotels in Singapore, a handy smartphone is provided in each room for use during your stay. Plenty useful especially for tourists, it provides unlimited data and local calls.

Which reminds me, I should mention that WiFi is not free. There is a range of plans you can opt for, depending on the length of duration you want.

Herein lies the biggest reason for me to pick this hotel; the bathtub. For a similar price range with other hotels, this room has a sizeable tub! I’m about 169cm with the bottom half of the body being longer. I could still sit in the tub with my legs stretched out comfortably!

In addition, they provided comfy bathrobes. Hubs is a BIG fan of bathrobes. Along with having take-aways in the hotel room. We are the type that considers spending time in the hotel room as equally important, wherever we travel to. It has become our habit to buy food back to the hotel and have dinner in the comfort of our room, as such.

Following a night of restful sleep on their fluffy bed, was a hearty breakfast. Breakfast time is 6:30AM to 10:30AM. We went down at about 9AM to be greeted by a line of people queueing to go into the restaurant. Totally didn’t see that coming.

It was worth the wait though. Their intercontinental breakfast selection was vast. The drink station itself had a rich variety of freshly squeezed juices. There were the usual apple and orange juices, to the zesty pineapple+lemon+papaya juice and refreshing watermelon+guava juice.

Salad and fruits station, for the health conscious.


Yogurt and jam assortment.


Croissant, bagels, garlic bread, you name it, they have it.


Come to this station to order waffles, pancakes and eggs, whipped up to your preference. Plus, a local delight, laksa!

Our table was full even before hitting all the stations. Time for us to eat first, Bon Appétit!

Unfortunately, weekends are always too short. We were given late check-out at 2PM, 2 hours later than the standard check-out time (at least it made up for our delayed check-in). Check-out was a breeze, since there was no horde of people trying to check-out at the same time.

As we stepped out of the door, though it felt like we were being catapulted back to reality, at least we felt more relaxed than we have been in a long time, thanks to the wonders of Sheraton Towers!

Address:
39 Scotts Rd, Singapore 228230
Contact: +65 6737 6888
www.sheratonsingapore.com

—いちご-ちゃん, checking in!
(All photos taken with iPhone 7+, no filter)

Leave a Reply

